A local grocer is learning the hard way how important it is not only to properly pay employees under state wage laws but to keep good records demonstrating that it did so. Following an investigation by the Massachusetts Attorney General’s wage and hour office, the employer was compelled to pay $84,000 in back wages and $21,000 more in penalties. As if that’s not enough, the store and its owner also had their names posted on the Attorney General’s web site so that all could read about their violations of state laws.
The case illustrates the importance of understanding and complying with Massachusetts laws that cover the payment of wages. They include the state’s Wage Act, which requires that employees receive pay for all hours — and minutes — they work and provides mandatory triple damages and legal fees against employers who fail to comply. Massachusetts also has its own overtime and minimum wage statutes, each of which provides broader benefits to employees than do federal counterparts. The state mandates that all employers keep accurate records of hours worked by and payments made to their employees, among other things, and generally requires that workers be treated as employees and not independent contractors. The mandatory triple damage and legal fee rules normally apply to legal transgressions in any of these areas.